First Announcement

Dear Colleague,

We would like to draw your attention to the following announcement (apologies if you receive more than one copy). Please distribute to all interested colleagues.

on behalf of the SOC

1st announcement of International Astronomical Union Symposium 380
“Cosmic Masers: Proper Motion toward the Next-Generation Large Projects”

March 20-24, 2023, Kagoshima-city, Japan + online (hybrid mode)

We are pleased to announce that the next International Astronomical Union (IAU) Symposium 380 “Cosmic Masers: Proper Motion toward the Next-Generation Large Projects” will be held from March 20, 2023 to March 24, 2023 in Kagoshima-city, Japan.

   Cosmic masers are unique probes of various astronomical environments, ranging from young stellar objects (YSOs), asymptotic giant branch stars (AGBs), the interstellar medium, the Milky Way Galaxy, to active galactic nuclei (AGNs). Thanks to their high brightness, maser observations using large radio interferometers, in particular Very Long Baseline Interferometry (VLBI) have provided high spatial and spectral resolution images, three dimensional velocity fields, including proper motions, and annual parallaxes, allowing the determination of basic physical properties. Since the last IAUS on cosmic masers in 2017, the Atacama Large Millimeter/submillimeter Array (ALMA) has achieved almost comparable resolution to VLBI. Future large projects such as the Square Kilometre Array (SKA) and the next generation Very Large Array (ngVLA) have masers as science drivers. Time-domain and multi-wavelength observations will allow  investigations of the dynamical phenomena in maser sources. Thus, the next IAUS on cosmic masers will be a timely opportunity to start discussions on future science and synergies with other large scale observations across other wavelength regimes.

1) Cosmic Distance Scale and the Hubble Constant
2) Black Hole Masses and the M-sigma Relation
3) Structure of the Milky Way
4) Dynamics of Formation of Massive Stars
5) Pulsation and Outflows in Evolved Stars
6) Theory of Masers and Maser Sources
7) New Projects and Future Telescopes

The meeting venue is Kagoshima City, located in the south-western region of Japan, while we also consider a possibility of the hybrid mode (both onsite and online) regardless of the COVID-19 situation. The conference will be held at a conference hall, Li-Ka 19-20, which has just opened in 2021 and can accommodate up to 450 participants (enough room even under the guideline on pandemic prevention). The venue is located next to the Kagoshima Central train station, which is directly accessible from the airport (40 minutes by bus) and the center of downtown (10-20 minutes walk or city tram). Kagoshima is in the southern part of Kyushu Island, and provides grand views to an active volcano, Sakurajima. Kagoshima itself is an enjoyable city with a variety of attractions for visitors, which are associated with historical episodes linking Asia and the whole world. One can easily access UNESCO World Natural/Industrial Heritage sites.

All the schedule will be subject to change due to the COVID-19 situation.
1st Circular (announcement for basic information): 2022/06/20
2nd Circular (start of registration): 2022/08/01
VISA application deadline: 2022/10/16
Early deadline (travel support, abstract): 2022/11/01
Selection of financial support: 2022 Mid Nov.
Selection for contributed talks: 2022 Mid Dec.
3rd Circular (reminder of registration, tentative program): 2022/11/28
Normal registration deadline (payment): 2023/01/10
4th Circular (final program, decision of format/site): 2023/01/17
Final Circular (detailed local information, logistics): 2023/02/28
Symposium welcoming reception and initial registration: 2023/03/19
Symposium main science sessions: 2023/03/20-24
Proceedings deadline: 2023/05/01
Proceedings publication: 2023/09/30

Further detailed information will be available and be timely updated.

Tomoya Hirota (National Astronomical Observatory of Japan, Japan) co-chair
Karl Menten (Max-Planck-Institut for Radio Astronomy, Germany) co-chair
Ylva Pihlstrom (University of New Mexico, United States) co-chair
Anna Bartkiewicz (Nicolaus Copernicus University, Poland)
Crystal Brogan (National RadioAstronomy Observatory, United States)
James Chibueze (North-West University, SouthAfrica)
Claudia Cyganowski (University of St.Andrews, United Kingdom)
Guido Garay (Universidad de Chile, Chile)
Yoshiaki Hagiwara (Toyo University, Japan)
Katharina Immer (Leiden University, Netherlands)
Jihyun Kang (KoreaAstronomy and Space Science Institute, Korea)
Silvia Leurini (INAF OsservatorioAstronomico di Cagliari, Italy)
Mark Reid (Harvard-Smithsonian Center forAstrophysics, United States)
Maria Rioja (The University of WesternAustralia, Australia)
Bo Zhang (ShanghaiAstronomical Observatory, China)

Hiroshi Imai (Kagoshima Univesity) co-chair
Akiharu Nakagawa (Kagoshima Univesity) co-chair
Ross Burns (National Astronomical Observatory of Japan, Japan)
Toshihiro Handa (Kagoshima Univesity)
Mareki Honma (National Astronomical Observatory of Japan, Japan)
Hiroyuki Nakanishi (Kagoshima Univesity)
Kanako Obara (Kagoshima Univesity)
Hiroko Shinnaga (Kagoshima Univesity)
Shigehisa Takakuwa (Kagoshima Univesity)
Yusuke Tsukamoto (Kagoshima Univesity)